top of page

I Love Letters



I love letters, not the the a, b, c, kind of letters per se, although they are an integral part, but proper letters… Hand written (or perhaps hand typed) letters, real letters, not a text, not a tweet, not a post, not an email and not an emoji in sight!


I love all manner of letters; inquiry letters, application letters, friend letters, complaint letters, compliment letters, congratulation letters, cover letters, love letters and the list could go on.


I rarely need an excuse to start writing one and love the art and articulation it entails to write a really great one. In some parts of the world I am known as the queen of complaints with regard to my letter writing prowess and in fact there was one whole season that my friends and I had to re-name as the Summer of Discontent due to the high outpouring of letters written by my own fair hand!


So why am I writing this blog? Because I believe that words are wonderful and a pen is powerful and with both in hand we can make a difference and change the world. So go on, get your pen out, write a letter, send it with a stamp and see what happens.


Emma Kerr


p.s. This blogpost was written after being inspired, yet again to write a letter: to the founder of Teachers Without Borders; Fred Mednick. I believe that he loves letters too and so fingers and toes are crossed that he will send a speedy response to mine!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page